Discover (from 2010)

If I were an artist
I would paint how I feel
in the most vibrant colors
that make love real
If I were a dancer
I would only dance with you
If I were a speaker
I swear I would only tell whats true
But if I could be anything
I would just be with you
I don’t want to go searching
in mines for gold
just to be yours to have and to hold
All my life I guess I searched
and only found mysteries
that led me to mazes ending in misery
If I were poet
I would write you a song
and if you were choosing
pray that mine was the one
if I were from the Ivy League
I would represent you
and pray my every move was true
but if I could be anyone
it would the one thats close to you
If I were endowed with talent
would it amuse you
If I were of unknown beauty
would I mesmerize you
If I were intelligent beyond comprehension
could you then see children
but if I could be anyone
it would be to be the only one
Yes if I were only a woman
and that is all I claimed to be
would you wait for me to dance for you
or would you come and look for me
if I were only a woman
and that was my only claim
would you need something more divine
or would you want to know my name
Because babe I’m just a woman
and I have many dreams
I just wondered
for once
would someone discover me

Leave a comment