Down Around Here

I’m tired but I really shouldn’t be
Isn’t everyone
I’m sick and it’s all on me
But isn’t everyone
And maybe that’s why writers write
And artists make a mess
Trying not to feel alone
When we feel all the distress
Because my antenna catches everything
Down around here
Yes I pick up everything and everything feels down – around here
Wanna be in love but I wanna be alone
Won’t make any promises
But I’m way past grown
Time waits for no one
But I try to beat time
Still making pretends on a heart
Well that’s a low down crime
And maybe that’s why poets write
Trying to make some sense
Of all the different senses
Trying to synchronize
The feels with all the tenses
Or maybe sometimes it’s just bleeding
When we feel down and most times
Everything is down , around here
Around here
Bored out of my mind
But my mind is always working
Firing on all cylinders
And pages always turning
Irons in the fire and running to somewhere
Making stands and writing words
Making strides and writing words
Making plans and the plans burn
Long before we see the flames
And maybe that’s why writers write
To place on others hearts the memory
Of things we know or things we see
Things we hear or things you’ll see
Because sometimes it’s feeling down
And most times it’s all down around here
Around here

Leave a Reply

