Lightning Rod

Catching the fire
Catching the waves
Amplified clouds
And amplified rays
Like a lightning rod
In these stormy times
Seeing in the dark
The blinding light
Uncovering all the lies
You try to convince yourself
Lightning rod and I can’t help
Don’t ask me for anything
It’s not that I don’t care
I just come up empty
Though everything attracts
And it seems so simple
Can lead a horse to water
Can’t make a horse drink
Give a man truths
Can’t make a man think
So I’m catching fire
And catching rain
Catching happiness
And catching pain
Don’t ask me for anything
It’s not that I don’t care
I’m just a lightning rod
For all that is everywhere
And it illuminates
On the inside
And sometimes
Leaves me empty
Like a lightning rod
In these troubled times
I’ll hold the candle for you
And show you the way
I can get you there
But can’t make you stay
Don’t ask me for anything
I’m emptied
Give you some crayons
Make your own masterpiece
I’m a lightning rod
To help you see
Catching your fire
And catching your rain

Leave a Reply

