The weather

Getting to the real

real real thing here
when the wind blew
and it blew cold

and I held to you
and when it rained and rained hard

I felt for you

and when it was hot

and to hot to breathe

I breathed in you

and somewhere in the haze
some fires grew

and I grew too
does anyone ever really grow up

when we think we have the answers

some questions give us up

yeah sometimes we think we have our walls
and we shield ourselves

but somebody calls us down

and then we fall
touch touches touch

and tears melt on tears

laugh laughs back at the what the hell

what the hell is happening here

we do things we said we’d never

to heal things we already thought were better

and stand outside our fences

and look back on our old defenses

and laugh at the laughter there is
and maybe what is is all there is

but  I’ll never be sorry cause
maybe we never grow up
growing up is just not enough
when we think we have the answers

some questions give us up
and learning the answers is hard
when you try to move
and to move just means there’s some kind of pain
but growing pains leave a bruise
but in the rain I called for you
and in the fog sometimes I felt for you
came down from my walls

and let myself out of the stalls
and we made some songs
in our halls
getting to the real

real things in how I feel

maybe we never grow up

never get all the answers
and maybe nobody does

but thanks for the weather anyway
thanks for the sun
and thanks for the rain

Leave a Reply

