The Last

The Last Christian in America

I took a trip across the land of the free

in it’s last days 
I wanted to find something to remember
and be grateful to have been here
where we were so blessed

yet forgot to be thankful

I took a trip across to the land
to meet some people who could tell me
what my entertainers wouldn’t

when they were speaking for progress

and how we could do better
I went to find the immigrants 
who risked their lives for something better
I went to find the worshippers

who couldn’t have Bibles in China

I looked for the Jews whose children escaped 
I met the Amish on their land
I met the natives who we owe more than life

Now we have more in common don’t we
than we ever knew we did

and maybe we can understand now

in languages undefined
that we have all come from the earth
and dust to dust we return
I close my eyes and pray we have learned
we have understood and we have grown

but across the land and all of her memories

who seen it all and holds the blood and tears

the freedoms and fears
she grows tired of the anguish and tension 
and now like in the ancient days

when we have to be silent
by forgetfulness or by force

the stones cry out
and the foundations shake

and she calls out for her lover
for the bride who is ready but choked in the pain

by the evil, the diseased and the insane
the prideful man of sin gets his day

but we the created calls out for the last play

took a trip across of the land of the free

what we understood 

and what we believed

all the veils are uncovered now
and the center is gone
in the crisis of identity

don’t know who we are 

or where we stand 

unless someone gives a title 
makes that plaque

so alive in the last days of the land of the free

if you don’t understand 
or it sounds insane
I just want something to remember
help me remember 

and thank God for what I never did before

in the days before the fall

when the rocks have to cry out
when the rocks have to cry out.

crying_for_earth_by_mapleprize-d5n1gdr

As he was now drawing near, at the descent of the Mount of Olives, the whole multitude of the disciples began to rejoice and praise God with a loud voice for all the mighty works that they had seen, saying, “Blessed is the King who comes in the name of the Lord! Peace in heaven and glory in the highest!” And some of the Pharisees in the multitude said to him, “Teacher, rebuke your disciples.” He answered, “I tell you, if these were silent, the very stones would cry out.” (Luke 19:37-40 )

When the earth and all its people quake, it is I who hold its pillars firm.”  Psalm 75:3

From upcoming: Letters From the End of the Age

Leave a Reply

