Waking

Waking up with a start

Dreaming of your face

Nothing to hold on to but thought

And

Nothing to voice but pray

Funny how’s it always plays

Be it street or prescribed

It’s always synthetic and derived

Putting up a glass wall

Between what I see

And what I can touch 

But when I could wasn’t it so much

Just so much 

Waking up with a grieving sound

Coming out of my soul

There’s thing we say

But then there’s things we know

And what I knew I just don’t know anymore

If you’re gonna leave 

You could have closed the door

But it’s just a review 

A reoccurrence 

Of all those glass walls

And glass locked doors

The things we see

But can’t get to

Means something to me

Said it means something to you

Begging the winds not to take you

But then that’s selfish of me

To think I could hold something

Till I touched that life

That touched me

Waking up with a start

And I was calling for you

Don’t you do it, don’t you leave

But I couldn’t reach you

When I was awakened 

Weren’t you there too

Weren’t you there too

Leave a Reply

