When I was in California

I got some sun in California

for a day or so
and I thought man, is this the same sun that shines every where else?

I was out in wine country and sitting under the big western sky
and thought man are these the same stars that poke through every one else’s night?

This is what I’ve been missing

and it’s interesting the perceptions we have about places

and people and their spaces

the breath of the grapes and their dirt

the openness of the sky

and the dryness in the air

makes you come alive

and then the tourist traps selling their tourist crap

from places where history was made

here get your Alcatrez magnet

I saw my lover in California
or maybe California is part my lover

those wide open thought spaces

stars in his eyes

and dry like the warm heat of the sun
and the breath of the life in the dirt

that feeds the grapes that I drink by the bottle

a high kind of buzz

its the same kind of thing

baby gets his own set of mindless tourism

but please no magnets from Alcatrez

Fell in to California
or California just kept part of me

either way I met my lover in California

or California part was my lover

11219526_10153795294616812_2314261190829632253_n

Leave a Reply

