Celebrate

Remembering the fire

Carrying it in my heart

long a song I wrote

and my baby sang with me

praying in my soul

getting some clarity

out of all that condensed time

that now stretches out like an accordion

breathing and out

hey man I know you

I’ve got you here close to me

said I would stay
stay till you wanted me to leave

I guess you never did
or you never did say

but how selfish of me
to want to keep you

in that safe and tired space

so now I breathe in the fire
and the words and the times and frames

keeping them in their remembered place

hey man I know you

you saw me through any pretense
and heard things no one else could

so I let that coyote run

let that butterfly fly away

let that star rise

those transitions that put tears on my face
and for once it’s okay

how could I try to keep

what has outgrown the frame

you and me

transitions must transist

and it’s all good

it is just what it is

so the moon is out after the sky has cried

and I hold my coyote’s butterfly

to my side

and smile for once

on the outside

celebrate my love

celebrating life

coyote

Leave a Reply

